Here Not There: San Diego Art Now

Here Not There: San Diego Art Now
Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego (MCASD)
June 6 – September 19, 2010

The Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego announces the artists selected to participate in the upcoming exhibition, Here Not There: San Diego Art Now, which focuses on the range of individual and collective contemporary art practices in the San Diego region. Opening June 6, the exhibition will be on view through September 19, 2010 at MCASD La Jolla.

Here Not There will offer a stimulating and provocative view into the variety, strength, and vitality of work being produced by contemporary artists living in San Diego County. The exhibition will focus on emerging artists — serving as the first museum exhibition for many — as well as under-recognized mid-career artists, and will include artworks in a wide range of genres, from painting, drawing, and sculpture to installation, video, new media, conceptual and performance art.

In Fall 2009, the Museum solicited submissions from artists living and working in San Diego County for consideration in this exhibition and received over 230 submissions through this process. In addition, MCASD Associate Curator, Lucía Sanromán, conducted studio and gallery visits and investigations into the social networks through which individual artists coalesce — such as universities, colleges, commercial and alternative gallery spaces, and collectives and artists’ groups.

Informed by this research, Sanromán selected the 43 artists and collectives who will participate in the exhibition:

David Adey
Adam Belt
Susannah Bielak
Brian Black and Ryan Bulis
Kelsey Brookes
Sheldon Brown
Micha Cárdenas and Elle Mehrmand
Brian Dick
Ricardo Dominguez
Tom Driscoll
Kelly Eginton
James Enos
Steve Gibson
Brian Goeltzenleuchter
Matt Herbert
John Hogan
Jeff Irvine
Glenna Jennings
John Oliver Lewis
Lev Manovich
Heather Martin
May-Ling Martinez
Jessica McCambly
Gretchen Mercedes
Patricia Montoya
Ingram Ober
Christopher Puzio
Andy Ralph
Marisol Rendon
Allison Renshaw
Jason Sherry and Matt Hoyt
Tristan Shone
The Border Corps (Armando de la Torre, Anthony Vasquez, Endy, Perry Vasquez, and Shondra Dawson)
Stephen Tomkins
Michael Trigilio
Robert Twomney
Zlatan Vukosavljevic
Vicki Walsh
Allison Wiese

San Diego’s visual arts have developed a critical mass of local talent remarkable for their commitment to creating practices — studio-based, public, or collaborative — that explore unorthodox, often solitary, forms of production while experimenting with innovative structures for the dissemination of art. Here Not There does not aim to reach definitive conclusions about the nature of artistic production in San Diego County, nor draw a single narrative illustrating notions of identity or regionalism. The main objective is to chart as straight a trajectory as possible: from the artist’s studio to the exhibition space. From this investigation, the exhibition emerges as a site of multiple overlapping thematic lines, encircling around disparate communities with their own gravitational centers, each defining a “here” that nearly touches another.

Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego